Friday, October 4, 2013

IEM CETD Design Competition RESULTS

The Final Poster Presentation held on 23rd February 2013 was the most anticipated event of the IEM Chemical Engineering Design Competition 2012. The competition, which was organised for the first time by the Chemical Engineering Technical Division (CETD), had attracted twenty four teams from the higher learning institutions nationwide. After submitting three progressive reports, only eight teams were shortlisted for the poster presentation in Wisma IEM, which contributed the final 10% for the competition’s assessment.

 Each team was given fifteen minutes to present the poster on their biogas plant design. The A2 size poster must contain the background of the plant design, the design basis and criteria, process flow diagram (PFD), piping and instrumentation diagram (P&ID), design drawing of one equipment and brief summary of the plant’s economic performance. The teams were assessed on poster design as well as oral defence by the panel of judges that consisted of experienced engineers from the industry and academics.

 After an hour of presentation, the floor adjourned for lunch break while the Secretariat and Organising Committee consolidated the marks. Finally, the event ended with the announcement of the winners and prize giving by Ir. Prof. Dr. Dominic Foo, the Chairman of CETD. 
The winners are:
1st prize winning RM 3,000 goes to Monash University

Chee Beng Siang - Aaron Ng Tze Heng - Voon Seen Yee
Sarah Yeoh Ee Lyn - Manura Ananda Kumar

2nd prize: RM 2,000 goes to Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)

  Har Chen Loon - Chan Ying Xin - Liu Chun Mei - Neo Lei Yee - Nicole Lam Chooi Yan

3rd prize: RM 1,000 goes to Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
 Chiew Yee Ket - Law Woon Phui - Lau Siaw Jing - Ling Yeu Shin - Tan Ni King

2 x Consolation prize: RM 500 and certificates goes to
Monash University
Cheang Khai Hong  - Lee Pui Ee - Low Yen Yen - Tan Kian Tiong - Teh Hock Xiong


Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)
How Kha Tiam - Chan Junda - Pang Wei Xiong - Carina Hoon Huey Q - Danny Ho Pui Fui


Ir. Prof. Dr. Dominic Foo had also presented letter of appreciation to all the judges that had been involved in the entire competition during the event. Participants who did not bag any prizes from the competition were also given certificate of participation issued by IEM. Overall, the competition had been a great success with many positive feedbacks from the participants and panel of judges. The same competition will be organised in year 2013/2014 and it is hope that more chemical engineering students will benefit from this design competition.

Reported by,
Engr. Noor Zuraihan Mohamad Noor
Organising Chairperson

Finalist teams at the final poster presentation session.

No comments:

Post a Comment