Sunday, March 25, 2012

7th Malaysian Chem-E-Car Competition 2012

Are you ready for the 7th Malaysian Chem-E-Car Competition? It will be held on the 11th and 12th April, 2012 at UMS. You can visit the official website for details.

The main objective of the competition is to construct a shoebox-sized car powered by a chemical reaction. The car must be able to carry a certain load of water and stop within 2 minutes at a specified distance. The closest car is the winner. Here, the students have to apply their knowledge in chemistry and reaction engineering as well as technical skills in designing gearbox and electrical circuits in order to successfully run and stop the car. The Chem-E Car Competitions a good platform for students to demonstrate their creativity and innovativeness gained from their undergraduate studies.

Car Performance

Each car will be given two opportunities to traverse a certain distance (15-25 meter) while carrying a specified load of water (100-500 mL).
The goal of the competition is to have the model car stop at the finishing line.
Participants are also required to abide by safety rules as specified by the organizer.
Details and competition rules would be made available to the participants upon acceptance of registration by the Organizing Committee.

Poster Presentation

The presentation duration is 2 min for each team followed by a 3-min Q&A session. The winner will be determined from an averaged mark of minimum 3 judges who will evaluate the 5 criteria below:
  • Description of the chemical reaction / power source / stopping mechanism (20%)
  • Design creativity and unique features of the vehicle (20%)
  • Environmental and safety features (20%)
  • Economic aspects (20%)
  • Quality of the poster and team member presentations (20%)

Previous Winners

  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (2005)
  • UniKL MICET (2006)
  • No ChemE Car competition held in 2007
  • Universiti Malaya (2008)
  • UniKL MICET (2009)
  • Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (2010)
  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (2011)

Previous Hosts

  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (2005)
  • Universiti Malaya (2006)
  • No ChemE Car competition held in 2007
  • Universiti Sains Malaysia (2008)
  • UniKL, MICET (2009)
  • SEGi University College (2010)
  • Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (2011)

Look forward to seeing you there!